Home
Diary Contact
Home
Diary Contact
Last Month | Next Month | 2018 Index

Diary and Notices, August 2018

Diary


Wednesday, August 1
Thursday, August 2
Friday, August 3
Saturday, August 4

Sunday, August 5

Trinity 10

Monday, August 6
Tuesday, August 7
Wednesday, August 8
Thursday, August 9
Friday, August 10
Saturday, August 11

Sunday, August 12

Trinity 11

Monday, August 13
Tuesday, August 14
Wednesday, August 15
Thursday, August 16
Friday, August 17
Saturday, August 18

Sunday, August 19

Trinity 12

Monday, August 20
Tuesday, August 21
Wednesday, August 22
Thursday, August 23
Friday, August 24
Saturday, August 25

Sunday, August 26

Trinity 13

Monday, August 27
Tuesday, August 28
Wednesday, August 29
Thursday, August 30
Friday, August 31

Notices


Jump to:

General Notices

CHURCH FLOWERS
St Mary's Flower Arrangers would be delighted to hear from anyone who would be interested in joining a team or being a reserve, to be called on occasionally. No experience necessary. Please speak to Celia or Peggy in church, if you are interested.

2020 PROJECTS ARE MOVING ALONG
1. We have had several submissions from architects for the new refectory facilities. Closing date has not yet passed but interviews will be 19th / 20th July. These are open to anyone who wants to come and observe (not speak) and give feedback to the interviewers. More details later...

2. We have had quotes for repairing St Mary's church and refectory roofs. Some work can start fairly soon but we really need some help in applying for grants for this. We have all the info needed for the grant forms. We have photos (lots). The diocese has a list of possible funders and will help us with who to apply to. What we don't have is anyone who is able and willing to fill in the forms for different funders and to keep track of the progress of the different applications. Could this be you? Could this be someone you know? They would be supported by the fabric committee and by the diocesan person. This is a really important piece of work and we would be very grateful. Please have a talk with Gary or Tilly or Felicity if you are interested. Many thanks.

FETE SECRET AUCTION by 31st July
We have left over from the Fete some Win-A-Day-Out prizes, which I am auctioning off. If you would like to have one (or more) of them, Email, phone or catch me (Tilly Evershed) in church and let me know what you would like to bid. I will then give the prizes to the highest bidder for each one, and let you all know what extra we have raised towards the Fete total. Final date for contacting me will be July 31st. Email tilly.evershed@ntlworld.com Phone 01865 460038

DATA PROTECTION IN THE PARISH
Please may we remind you that in order to communicate with you, we need your consent to hold your data (name, address, phone number and email etc). We ask that each person signs a consent form and these forms are available today. Thank you!


Dated Notices


VISIT TO YARNTON POTTERY 4th August
Following the last open space service when we had a meditation led by Andrew from Yarnton Pottery, some of us felt we would like to pay a visit to the pottery. This has now been arranged for 11am on Saturday 4th August. Sue Knox has most kindly offered to host a Bring and Share lunch in her house or garden. Please let Susan know if you are coming so she knows how many glasses etc she will need. Otherwise just turn up at the pottery a few minutes before 11am. Anyone in need of a lift please contact Jan or Peter Jeffreys on 580659.

A SUMMER AFTERNOON with the BRF and special guests 21st August
On Tuesday 21st August at 2.30pm in St Mary's K the Bible Reading Fellowship will be visiting us to give presentations on various different aspects of their work. Sally Welch, Editor of New Daylight, will talk about the daily Bible reading notes, and answer questions; Chief Executive Richard Fisher will tell us about their work with young people, including Messy Church and Who Let The Dads Out, and Debbie Thrower will introduce their latest project, The Gift of Years and Anna Chaplaincy. This promises to be a fascinating insight into the varied work of BRF, and a chance to chat to the presenters over tea and cakes!

Looking Ahead


RIDE+STRIDE Saturday 8 September
Why not join the UK's biggest fundraising day to keep Historic Churches looking beautiful. Ride or stride around as many churches as you can, or set your own challenge, and you can raise funds for both the Oxfordshire Historic Churches Trust, and St Mary's. If you would like to know more, contact Richard Davies on 01865 376053.
BISHOP STEVEN'S PILGRIMAGE PRAYER WALK: SUNDAY 9TH SEPTEMBER
Bishop Steven is completing a pilgrimage prayer walk to every church of the Oxford Archdeaconry, and on Sunday 9th September he will be visiting our three churches before walking through to north and central Oxford. Bishop Steven will bless each church as he visits, and continues to the next at the following aprox times: Pilgrims are invited to join the walk at any point, and it would be wonderful to have a good number of people able and willing to take part. The walk will begin at 8am at St Mary's Hampton Poyle, but you could also join the walk at St Mary's Kidlington or St John's. Please contact Laura if you would like to take part, and if you have any questions.
'OPEN SPACE' SERVICES PLANNING: SUNDAY 16th Sep
The Open Space services are planned and led by different combinations of people each month with a lead clergy or LLM to steer them. We are always ready to welcome new people to help plan an Open Space. You don’t need qualifications, and you don’t have to have been attending church for ages to qualify! Why not stay for coffee after church on 16th Sep when we will set out the chosen broad themes for the coming year and invite interested people to join a planning team for each month. September's theme is 'loneliness' and October is about Bible reading. Do you have musical / dramatic / creative suggestions? Do you like helping others to find ways of praying / connecting with God? Do you like working in a small group to produce something really good? Would you like to lead an aspect of worship? (no obligation) Lots of people have been involved so far of all ages and all experiences… You are welcome too. For more info speak to any of the clergy team.