Home
Diary Contact
Home
Diary Contact
Last Month | Next Month | 2018 Index

Diary and Notices, February 2018

Diary


Thursday, February 1
Friday, February 2
Saturday, February 3

Sunday, February 4

2nd Sunday before Lent

Monday, February 5
Tuesday, February 6
Wednesday, February 7
Thursday, February 8
Friday, February 9
Saturday, February 10

Sunday, February 11

Sunday before Lent

Monday, February 12
Tuesday, February 13
Wednesday, February 14
Thursday, February 15
Friday, February 16
Saturday, February 17

Sunday, February 18

Lent 1

Monday, February 19
Tuesday, February 20
Wednesday, February 21
Thursday, February 22
Friday, February 23
Saturday, February 24

Sunday, February 25

Lent 2

Monday, February 26
Tuesday, February 27
Wednesday, February 28

Notices


Jump to:

General Notices

Are you unsure what to give up for Lent? Why not consider 'giving out' rather than 'giving up'? A growing campaign called '40 acts' is encouraging people to give something to others each day of Lent. You can sign up at www.40acts.org.uk to receive a daily email with a list of suggested acts for that day. It is not too late to join!


Dated Notices

Gatehouse 1st February
Thursday 1st is our next collection day.

Parish Quiz Night 2nd February
By popular demand we will be holding another Quiz Night at St John's on Friday 2nd February. Come along at 7pm for a 7.15pm start. Tickets cost just £7.50, including fish & chips or potato & chilli (vegetarian/gluten-free option available). Tea, coffee and water will be available but bring your own drink if you wish. Tickets from Janet Warren or Margaret Day (375916).

THE SAFE SPACE GROUP 5th Feb
We are a supportive and reflective group for those who struggle with, and want to learn more about, the Christian faith. This group meets fortnightly in the St Mary's Church Refectory at 2pm on a Monday. The next meeting is Mon February 5th 2018.

START! Course 6, 13, 20, 27th Feb
Tuesday evenings 8pm-9.15pm, at St John's church. God, Jesus and the journey of life in six sessions. Got questions? Looking for answers about the Christian Faith? then come and join us. Contact: Steve and Anne Handsley on 01865-378267.

TEA TALK Sunday 11th February
... at St Mary's Church at 3pm. James Hamilton will be speaking about Thomas Gainsborough, English Portrait and Landscape Painter. More info from Yo Davies 07865 664451. (Offers of cakes and helpers for the teas gratefully accepted.)

Planning Meeting 12th February
We are putting together a programme of events to involve the whole community for our 2020 centenary year - 'Antiques Roadshow', Kidlington Olympics, Open gardens, visits of Archbishop and Royal personage (we hope!), safari suppers, Flower Festival ... We have two years left so this is the time to get planning. Tomorrow night at 8pm a small group is meeting in the Rectory (not refectory!) to get this going. We need lots and lots of people to get involved in some way with the events. Can you come along tomorrow night and help us plan? Everyone welcome. (Don't worry, the planning group will not arrange every event!) Could you get involved with one event?

LENT STARTS ON FEB 14TH
Ash Wednesday services are held at 10am and 8pm in St Mary's and 12 noon at St John's.

LENT GROUPS
We will follow Bishop Steven's Lent courses on Compassion, Contemplation, and Courage as shown in the Beatitudes and the story of Lazarus. Lent discussion groups are on Thursday day times (Martin) and Thursday Evenings (Felicity). The Making Group will also respond to themes from the story of Lazarus on Monday evenings, and their creativity will again be used in the Good Friday service.

BIBLE READING CHALLENGE starts Feb 15th
Would you like to read the entire Bible from beginning to end over the course of a year? A group of us are planning to do this, starting on February 15th (the beginning of Lent). We will commit to a personal discipline of daily Bible reading, following a plan that covers the books of the Bible from Genesis through to Revelation. We will meet together every couple of months to share how things are going. Please contact Laura (laura.biron@gmail.com) if you are interested in taking part.

Open Space on 18th
The Open Space service this month at St Mary's K is a Eucharist and has the themes of Compassion and Fair Trade. 10am at St Mary's K.
THE AKEMAN BENEFICE LENT LECTURES 2018
WEDNESDAYS in LENT 7.30-9.00pm in Kirtlington Church
A series of addresses, with time for discussion and reflection on the subject of PRAYER. We are all invited to attend some or all of these.
  • Feb 21 PRAYING with THE PSALMS
    Revd Dr Megan Daffern, Chaplain, Jesus College. Author, "Songs of the Spirit"
  • Feb 28 PRAYING with ART
    Revd Georgie Simpson Director, The Oxford Centre for Spiritual Growth. Priest and Spiritual Director
  • Mar 7 PRAYING with SILENCE Father John Farrell OP,Blackfriars, Dominican preacher and teacher. In Bletchingdon Church
  • Mar 14 PRAYING with MUSIC
    Revd Dr Jonathan Arnold, Dean of Divinity, Magdalen College. Author, "Sacred Music in Secular Society"
  • Mar 21 Mar PRAYING and PILGRIMAGE
    Revd Dr Sally Welch, Vicar of Charlbury and Area Dean of Chipping Norton

WILLOW TREE LUNCH Wednesday 21st February
Please contact Jan and Peter Jeffreys on 01865-580659 if you would like to join us.
COFFEE CONCERT Sunday 25th Feb
at 11.30am at St Mary's Kidlington. Meghann and David Hewett will play the flute and piano.


Looking Ahead

Go straight to March's notices